Skip to main content

$5000 Business Basics Update

Improve your business online web presence for free

Official information here:

About the Program

Queensland government funding

The Queensland Government provides specific support for small businesses through the Big Plans for Small Business Strategy. The Business Basics grants program (Program) provides support to businesses to increase core skills and adopt best practice.  The Program is competitive, meaning that applications are competitively assessed against the assessment criteria and not all applications will be funded.  Applicants can apply for funding for grant funded activities in one of five priorities:

  1. Training and coaching (development marketing, planning)
  2. Website build/upgrades (build, upgrade, ecommerce, new content)
  3. Professional business advice (business plans)
  4. Strategic marketing services (Strategic marketing, SEO)
  5. Business continuity and succession (Continuity, cybersafety)

The Department of Employment, Small Business and Training (DESBT) manage the grants.  For this round, there are two funding streams based on what Local Government Area (LGA) eligible businesses are headquartered. These LGAs are grouped into either South East Queensland or regional Queensland. Successful applicants will receive upfront fixed grant funding of $5,000 (excluding GST), and don’t have to co-contribute to this grant; however applicants would pay for any additional or related expenses that exceed the $5,000 of funding.

Program outcomes

Expected outcomes
  • increase confidence for business owners across core skills;
  • boost turnover, profit, and employment; and
  • improve business survivability and resilience.

Who can apply

To be eligible, the business must
  • have fewer than 20 employees (by headcount)
  • be operating and have an active ABN
  • be registered for GST
  • have an expected turnover of $300,000 or less for the current financial year
  • not have been approved for funding under an earlier round of Business Basics
  • have owners/directors that are not undischarged bankrupt and be solvent
  • have be in Queensland, within one of the areas listed below..

Must have headquarters operating address in one of these areas

• Brisbane
• Gold Coast
• Ipswich
• Lockyer Valley
• Logan
• Moreton Bay
• Noosa
• Redland
• Scenic Rim
• Somerset
• Sunshine Coast

• Aurukun
• Balonne
• Banana
• Barcaldine
• Barcoo
• Blackall-Tambo
• Boulia
• Bulloo
• Bundaberg
• Burdekin
• Burke
• Cairns
• Carpentaria
• Cassowary Coast
• Central Highlands
• Charters Towers
• Cherbourg
• Cloncurry
• Cook
• Croydon
• Diamantina
• Doomadgee
• Douglas

• Etheridge
• Flinders
• Fraser Coast
• Gladstone
• Goondiwindi
• Gympie
• Hinchinbrook
• Hope Vale
• Isaac
• Kowanyama
• Livingstone
• Lockhart River
• Longreach
• Mackay
• Mapoon
• Maranoa
• Mareeba
• McKinlay
• Mornington
• Mount Isa
• Murweh

• Napranum
• North Burnett
• Northern Peninsula Area
• Palm Island
• Paroo
• Pormpuraaw
• Quilpie
• Richmond
• Rockhampton
• South Burnett
• Southern Downs
• Tablelands
• Torres
• Torres Strait Island
• Townsville
• Weipa
• Western Downs
• Whitsunday
• Winton
• Woorabinda
• Wujal Wujal
• Yarrabah

Leave a Reply

10 + seven =

AI assistant Powered by Queensland Tech